Already missed a day

Already! One day missed in my sad attempt at 365 straight days. I did maybe 1? 2? I have a lot of excuses I am not going to give. However, it does make me reflect that it is a pretty unrealistic thing to do. For example, I might go camping this weekend. How the hell am I going to write a blog post when I’m camping? I’m not. I also have to confess that I am not a huge technology person, if that makes sense. I don’t have a Facebook, Twitter, anything. I know it can be a smart thing to have, but I had one temporarily and couldn’t stand it. There are definitely positive and negative consequences to all of this interconnectedness, and I sacrifice a lot of the positive due to the negative. I have a hard time being on a computer long.

IMG_0468

That is what my dog did the entire time my family had a 4th of July barbecue. Apparently he thought every time someone went up they would feed him or drop something (which they probably did).

I ran 10 miles today as a tempo run (8 tempo pace) and 2 miles warmup/cool down. Very happy to say I still feel really good and strong. Last year anemia killed my entire summer in terms of running. I could barely walk let alone run fast. TIP for anyone tired out there– GET YOUR BLOOD TESTED!!!! I played mind games with myself for a long time and kept wondering what the hell was wrong when I was anemic. I kept blaming my training. I truly believe everyone should get there blood tested a few times a year, especially athletes. It can tell you a lot.

I will explain later how I became so anemic without even realizing it, but it has to do with being a vegetarian. I was lazy in terms of making sure I was getting everything I needed, and I do think some people just have to supplement as well. It is much harder for your body to absorb the iron in plant based foods, so it takes more effort to do it right. Similarly, I think a lot of people make the mistake of ignoring their bodies when there are signals that something is off.

IMG_0438

That’s a pretty cool picture my brother took at the beach on the 4th. Last thing I will leave you with is a recipe—

Strawberry, Goat Cheese and Pecan Salad with Vinaigrette (makes about 4 servings for the average person but it is hard to say because I eat enormous salads..)

Ingredients for salad:

6 cups spring mix

1 1/2 cups very thinly sliced strawberries (could add more or less)

1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese

1/2 cup candied pecans

1/2 red onion thinly sliced

Ingredients for dressing:

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup red wine vinegar

dash of ground mustard

dash of cloves

pinch of salt

sugar to taste (usually a few tablespoons)

  1. Whisk all ingredients for dressing together in a jar or bowl.
  2. Toss spring mix with strawberries, pecans, goat cheese, and sliced onions in a large bowl. Add dressing when serving and toss to coat.
Leave a Reply

