Vacation on the Horizon

Tuesday I am going to Acadia National Park in Maine, and I am looking forward to the break. The only thing I feel bad about is not being able to bring my dog, who I have an irrational habit or worrying about and missing way too much. But I am going with my family, and you never know what we will do and whether or not dogs will be allowed. If anyone has not been there, it’s a beautiful and interesting place to go. It has a New England feel about it, but a lot of the natural landscape makes you feel like you’re somewhere you could never go in another part of NE. Cliffs overlooking the ocean, mountains, miles of trails, and one time on the island a storm came and the whole thing lost power. I am also looking forward to running there to take a break from these same streets and roads.

IMG_8333

There is Hunter again with his two best pug friends.

On another note, I mentioned last time that I would give suggestions to vegetarians or people trying to eat less meat who struggle with getting in all of their nutrients. One of the reasons my anemia developed so drastically was because I was eating things like salads with a few chickpeas for dinner or fruit for a snack. So if you’re going to do it, do it right. I still take an iron supplement, but also eat a lot of eggs and things like black beans. Or eat fish, which can be a much more humanitarian and sustainable way to consume a little bit of meat. I am sick of all of these eating labels everyone seems to be taking on, so I don’t even like to call myself a vegetarian but it is what it is.

…Speaking of feeling good, I ran 18 miles today. The long runs are getting better and better, and I have to admit they have felt very comfortable. I’d like to take this as an opportunity to add some more stress with the idea it would make me better, but I’m going to do this right and add a little bit at a time. Not in the mood for any injuries.

strawberry-bowl-photo-wallpaper-1

I’ve got a good recipe for anyone who loves Strawberry-Rhubarb pie (my mom’s favorite dessert). It is a compote you can put on top of vanilla yogurt or ice cream or even eat alone and I promise you it tastes delicious. I adapted it from one of Ina Garten’s recipes, mainly reducing the sugar, but you can really do this by putting any fruit with a little lemon juice and boiling it in a saucepan. Also good to put on top of waffles.

Ingredients:

About 4 cups (1 pound) 1/2-inch cut rhubarb slices

16 oz strawberries cut into halves or quarters

1/4-1/2 cup of sugar (I try to use as little as I can and taste as I go)

2 tablespoons of water

1/2 tsp lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Combine strawberries, rhubarb, sugar and water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and let simmer over medium heat until the rhubarb is tender, about 10 minutes. Then remove from heat.
  2. Keep refrigerated if you’re going to store it.

 

Leave a Reply

