Jack Daniels, Tempo Runs, and Nantucket

My high school coach, who I will introduce you more to later, is by far the most knowledgeable person I’ve ever met when it comes to running. Not only did he qualify for the Olympics (but unfortunately was injured and unable to compete), but he recently told me a great story about meeting Jack Daniels, staying with him in Oregon for a period of time, and participating in his research lab (more on that later). He told me that he learned nearly everything he needed to know from Daniels, who I’m sure any running fan out there is familiar with.

This is one of the only pictures I could find of my high school cross country team at the start of a race but it’s funny to look back on. You can only see my leg because I’m hidden behind someone.

100_0580

I know I mentioned before wanting to get a sub 1:25 half marathon, which should be a reasonable goal considering my iron levels are normalizing and that slowed me WAY down for a long time. I’ve also managed to stay injury free, which is a big deal for me.

Well, my former coach (who I still keep in touch with frequently), told me the most important thing I can do for a half marathon is tempo runs– otherwise known as an anaerobic threshold run. For a tempo run, I always do a warm up before easing into a steady tempo pace, which is usually about 30 second per mile faster than my target race pace. For example, if I want to run a half marathon at 6:30 pace, I’ll do a tempo run at 6 minute pace. It should feel difficult, but sustainable, and eventually that faster pace will start to feel easier.

One piece of advice is that calculating your tempo pace does vary significantly depending on the event you’re training for. This is a really good calculator to find splits for different races and can help determine your training pace: https://runsmartproject.com/calculator/

On another note…… I am off to Nantucket for a bike trip this weekend. Can’t wait and will take pictures to update when I am back. Have a good weekend!

 

IMG_0246

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

